Imagine!

17 hours is the official countdown until I leave for Ecuador.

I’ll admit, the nerves have kicked in now. Don’t get me wrong, I’m incredibly excited about this three week adventure. It is the longest one I’ve been on yet.
I’m a little nervous that I’ll get sick, even though I’ve taken my dukoral and will start taking my diamox for altitude sickness later today.
I’m a little nervous about safety. For the first week, I’m traveling on my own. Well, I’ll be on a group tour in the Galapagos Islands, but by alone I mean, no one there to hold my hand!
I’m a little nervous about carrying 50 – 60 lbs of clothing and camera gear with me.

Now, IMAGINE!, beyond all the nerves is a whole lot of excitement. I can’t wait to explore so many places that I’ve never been. I can’t wait to see a different way of life. I can’t wait to discover the animals of the Galapagos Islands and get to the top of Machu Picchu!

For those of you who know me, you are going to be really surprised to hear me say this …

Imagine - Time's Square, New York City 2009

Imagine - Time's Square, New York City

More than anything on this trip, I’m excited about spending time with and on ME! Yup, that’s right. I am truly thrilled to have my first week to explore with no one to please but myself. I can take as many photos as I want, do whatever I want, change my mind, make mistakes, make new friends … all by myself.

I think it is one of the things that I truly love about travel is that it is one of the only times when I do things 100% for myself. And, IMAGINE! that’s probably why I find travel so addicting, so adreneline pumping and so fantastically free-ing.

In 17 hours I will be sitting at the airport (or maybe on the plane by then), probably shedding a few anxious, nervous tears … I’ll be thinking about my friends and family and missing them before I ever leave, but behind all of that emotion, once I’m flying up up and away I’ll be getting comfy with myself and looking forward to my three weeks of pure adventure!

Adios!

Leave a Reply

