Still working out the kinks of packing in a ruck sack

Feb 12, 2012

Last night, I was late getting to sleep in Quito. I decided it would be a good idea to shower that night and pack my bags so I wouldn’t have to get up so early in the morning. I also decided to only take one carry on the next day (my camera gear) and to not take the travel pillow and snacks as carry on because it was only a total of four hours in transit.

So, I packed everything away and lo and behold, I was able to fit everything I needed to in my checked baggage (ie huge travel backpack). I went to bed at midnight and felt pretty good about my packing job.

This morning, I woke up at 6:45am and got dressed in the clothes I had laid out the night before. Ooooops … I didn’t leave any deodorant out. Now, if I was smart, I would have my ‘necessities packed at the top for easy access, but instead, I packed for comfort. This means that the heaviest items go low in your pack and close to the centre of your back. The heaviest item I have with me is my toiletries because they are all liquid. Commence unpacking to reach my deodorant. Worst part is, I brought two sticks of deodorant with me and packed them BOTH in my toiletry bag last night without thinking! I won’t make that mistake again. It has also made me think about rearranging my toiletry items with necessities in a smaller bag at the top of my backpack for easy access. This, I will do when I leave the Galapagos Islands on Thursday.

Despite having to repack my bag this morning, I was very happy to only have to lug two bags around instead of three today. Carrying extra weight in the pack on my back is a lot easier to deal with than carrying my ruck sack, my heavy camera gear AND a third bag. Overall, happy with my decision to condense to two bags for shorter flights. I’m sure on my way home from Lima to Halifax I’ll be once again traveling with two carry ons. One, likely stuffed with alpaca scarves. So soft, warm and touchable!

Leave a Reply

