Dominican Food

I have now been in Santo Domingo for a week. I have loved almost everything that I have tasted. My home stay mom seems to be a really great cook. I’m not sure if they are all as good as her or not, but so far I’ve been very happy with the food!

Just to give you an idea, here are the meals that I can think of off the top of my head.

Breakfast (at my home):
We always have deliciously juicy and always fresh fruit (mango, papaya, pineapple, apple, banana)
Cornflakes (ok, not the best one)
Eggs with onions, Mangu – mashed plantanes
Some kind of porridge made from something similar to cornmeal. This was my favourite so far! It is a thick, hearty, mushy kind of dish that is a little bit sweet. Me gusta mucho!
Mangu and fried salami
Hot cereal made of rice and milk
We also usually have some kind of juice or lemonade which is always really refreshing.

Lunch (always at a restaurant):
1/4 roast chicken, french fries
Ham & cheese empanada
Rice, chicken stir fry, pasta salad
Dessert: Pudin de pan – (a local dessert) – a cake, set of like cheese cake, but not really, with raisins in it. Yummy!
Hot dog & chips (hot dog loaded with onions, cheese, ketchup, mayo and mustard)
Sancocho – a typical Dominican dish that is similar to stew for us. It has meat, plantains, potatoes and celery and is served over rice. I had it at a local friend’s house and it was yummy!
Fried Chicken & fried plantanes.

Supper (at my home):
Pasta with parmesan cheese and toasted bread
Potatoes and fried cheese
Salami in a tomato sauce with a vegetable that is similar to potatoes (maybe yuka?)
Potatoes, plantanes, tuna, eggs in a salsa sauce
Empanadas (ham & cheese and beef)

Honestly, I was kind of expecting a lot of beans and rice, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the variety, the freshness and the deliciousness of it all! And, come to think of it, I haven’t had beans once yet in the first week that I have been here!

3 thoughts on “Dominican Food

  1. This doesn’t sound good for losing weight, but maybe you will just sweat it off. Good to hear that the food is enjoyable. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

